City Council

City Council Group Photo - 5.4.23

Photos from left to right:  Councilmember Esmeralda Hurtado, Mayor Pro Tem Daniel Martinez, Mayor Frank Gonzalez, Councilmember Dolores Melendez, Councilmember Michael Montelongo

Member Selection

The City Council consists of five elected members. The position of Mayor is elected at large. The appointment of the Mayor Pro Tem changes every other year in December and is decided by a vote of the five Council members.


Frank Gonzalez, Mayor at Large

Esmeralda Hurtado, Councilmember, District 1

Dolores Melendez, Councilmember, District 2

Daniel Martinez, Mayor Pro Tem, District 3

Michael Montelongo, Councilmember, District 4


View our district map (PDF).


  • 6 p.m.
  • Twice a month on the 1st and 3rd Thursday of each month
  • Council Chambers of City Hall
    1700 7th Street
    Sanger, CA 93657


The City Council members are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk's Office. Copies of the statements of economic interests filed by the elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the City Clerk. 

The physical address of the FPPC is:
428 J Street
Suite 620
Sacramento, CA 95814

The City Clerk's Office is located at:
1700 7th Street
Sanger, CA 93657

Economic Interests

The statements of economic interests for some state and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC's website.